How To Know Your Life Purpose in 5 Minutes

Do you want to know your life purpose NOW? As in NOW. Right this moment.

Then simply answer these five questions:

  1. Who are you? 
  2. What do you do? What do you love to do? What IN ONE WORD is the one thing right now that you are supremely  qualified to teach other people?
  3. Who do you do it for?
  4. What do those people want or need that they come to you for?
  5. How do they change or transform as a result of what you give them?

Here’s what I came up with while doing the dishes and listening to the vid:

I’m Irene. I write. I write for young girls, women, and those who feel lost in limbo. They come to me for understanding or just for a listening ear, and guidance. They start believing in themselves, build better relationships, and achieve things that inspire me back to do the same. Except I don’t, which always makes me beat myself up for “empowering others” when I am still stuck where they first found me.

Does that make sense? Not to toot my own horn, but many family members, friends and strangers whom I’ve either spoken to or have read my work oft return to me to say that they finally did this or did that because of what I said or wrote, at one time or another.

Their feedback always comes as a surprise coz half the time, I write whatever I write mainly  for money (my salary, that is). True, I had hoped my work and insights would touch people in some way, but I never expected it to actually to.

I love writing about people, their lives, their struggles, their stories. Their experiences that oft remind me life is still good, however challenging. I always think, if I could be inspired by this story, imagine 50,000 reading it! But it’s totally unexpected and quite heartwarming really to hear someone actually tell you “Thanks” for something that I wrote about myself. (Oops, tooting again! :p)

My life’s ambition is not to be an example, however good, to millions of women, of people. All I REALLY want to inspire to action and help and guide really are my two younger sisters, my brothers and hopefully, once they have learned to read, my nieces and nephews.

I know like me, my family is trying their best to cope with our most recent loss. A very significant, life-changing loss. But as I make my own way out of the haze of grief and apathy, I am hoping that if they read my blogs, they would somehow relate to it and hopefully, find it in themselves to survive the experience as well in a healthy, more positively life-changing way. (Of course, nothing beats being there for each other and actually speaking to each other.)

And should anyone else, a complete stranger, find that they can go through this experience with me, then well, well, the more, the merrier, isn’t it?

But forget the future. I have to know what is my life’s purpose NOW, TODAY.

I am Irene. I write. I write for myself. I need to get to know myself again, to heal and to put myself back together into a NEW ME that could and would believe that there is life a BETTER, MORE BEAUTIFUL, HAPPY LIFE after loss. And once these needs have been met, I am determined to be someone who could help and tell others who are suffering through the same experience or something like it, without lying, that LIFE IS INDEED STILL WORTH LIVING.

So, what do YOU do?

About the video: Los Angeles Theatre Center co-founder Adam Leipzig is a film executive, producer and distributor who has  produced more than 300 stage plays and live events. www.AdamLeipzig.com

Leave a Reply

